Page 2 of 2

Posted: Sun 06 Mar, 2005 9:58 pm
by lloydkirk1989
Wow! That looks great Toaster!

Keep up the good work! :D

Posted: Sun 06 Mar, 2005 10:18 pm
by Jim e
top left corner is 0,0; bottom right is 95,63. So 60 should 4 i think.
but i see this is just horizontal line, stickmanofdoom wrote a good horizontal line drawing thats faster and smaller than a normal line routine. so i suggest his.
http://joepnet.com/hosted/maxcoderz/php ... .php?t=145

Posted: Sun 06 Mar, 2005 11:13 pm
by GuillaumeH
The image doesn't show up.

Posted: Sun 06 Mar, 2005 11:15 pm
by Toaster
Okay thanks for the new code Jim e. Spengo thats not a bad idea. mabey I will do that. :) I cant get the flickering to go away because I have to updated it every time else it gets erased because The HUD is masked. :P
I think there is a routine that is fast but I have to find out what it is.

Edit: Okay I fixed the line. Thanks for all of your help Jim e! 8)

Posted: Sun 06 Mar, 2005 11:27 pm
by Jim e
I don't understand why you can't get rid of the flicker. WHy don't you just send the text to the buffer.

Posted: Sun 06 Mar, 2005 11:40 pm
by Toaster
I think its the way iam drawing the health. :P

Code: Select all

	ld	a,1
	ld	(PENROW),a
	ld	a,16
	ld	(pencol),a
	ld	hl,(hel)
	call	vdisphl

Code: Select all

;Displays HL Very nicely.
vdisphl:
	bcall(_setxxxxop2)
	bcall(_op2toop1)
	bcall(_dispop1a)
	ret

I put this after IonFastCopy if I put it before it is even more flickery. :roll:

Posted: Mon 07 Mar, 2005 12:02 am
by Jim e
theres a flag that makes text goto the buffer.
set 7,(iy+20) ;write to buf
res 7,(iy+20) ;write to lcd
now just write text before fastcopy and the flicker should be gone.

oh remember to reset the flag, it's expected that way.

Posted: Mon 07 Mar, 2005 12:46 am
by Toaster
Are you talking about these?

set textwrite,(iy+sgrflags) ;sets the text flag
res textwrite,(iy+sgrflags) ;resets the text flag

Or is there an actuall "set 7,(iy+sgrflags)"

Posted: Mon 07 Mar, 2005 12:48 am
by Jim e
yes, it's the same thing.

Posted: Mon 07 Mar, 2005 12:56 am
by Toaster
Okay I did this....

set 7,(iy+20) ;write to buf
res 7,(iy+20) ;write to lcd
call DrawHel

And it flickered.

Then I did this...

set 7,(iy+20) ;write to buf
call DrawHel
res 7,(iy+20) ;write to lcd
And it did not show up. :P I think it is because iam useing a masked sprite routine for the HUD. :P Mabey if I put this code after I draw the then it might work. :D Nope I tried that to and it still did not work. :P

Posted: Mon 07 Mar, 2005 1:02 am
by Jim e
No, thats not how. you set the flag at the begining of your program, then reset it when it quits. Setting it causes VPuts , dispop1a & other text display to draw to the buffer instead of the lcd.
After you mask the hud and before you fastcopy display the hel and there should be no flicker.

Posted: Mon 07 Mar, 2005 1:03 am
by Madskillz
sweet toast...keep us posted. What about the sprite sizes? :twisted: I'm guessing you want only 16x16, I'll have to shrink my 32x32 ones then...

Posted: Mon 07 Mar, 2005 1:08 am
by Toaster
Yeah there 16*16 I am wondering how iam going to be able to AI and Moves. The AI will be pretty simple the guys will just come towards you but thats pretty hard just to do that. :P I will have to do some research o n AI. :roll: Now the moves are going to be hard I dont know how to do that yet. :?

Posted: Tue 08 Mar, 2005 8:17 am
by kv83
Jim e wrote:No, thats not how. you set the flag at the begining of your program, then reset it when it quits. Setting it causes VPuts , dispop1a & other text display to draw to the buffer instead of the lcd.
After you mask the hud and before you fastcopy display the hel and there should be no flicker.
It's not neccesary of course to use the set at the beginning of your program. I use the flag also in BattleCards. But only in the select screen. Saves me some routines for deleting lines in other screens.
Anyway. Don't forget to plot the buffer to the screen after writing to it. Otherwise the font won't show up of course :P

Posted: Tue 08 Mar, 2005 9:33 pm
by Toaster
kv83 wrote:
Jim e wrote:No, thats not how. you set the flag at the begining of your program, then reset it when it quits. Setting it causes VPuts , dispop1a & other text display to draw to the buffer instead of the lcd.
After you mask the hud and before you fastcopy display the hel and there should be no flicker.
It's not neccesary of course to use the set at the beginning of your program. I use the flag also in BattleCards. But only in the select screen. Saves me some routines for deleting lines in other screens.
Anyway. Don't forget to plot the buffer to the screen after writing to it. Otherwise the font won't show up of course :P
Okay I will try it as soon I can thanks you guys. :D