[TI ASM] Make a simple program

Got questions? Got answers? Go here for both.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

Wesley

[TI ASM] Make a simple program

Post by Wesley »

I'm studying ASM and having no knowledge of programming except TI-Basic is a bit difficult. I'm learning from the "Learn ASM in 28 Days" tutorial, but it doesn't have enough example programs for me to understand everything that's happening exactly.
I want to know how a simple basic program will look in ASM. I want to do a simple calculation by retrieving a value from the user and outputting that value^2. Here is a program in TI-Basic:

Code: Select all

:ClrHome    ;Clears the home screen
:Input "Variable=?",A    ;Retrieves value from user and stores it into A
:A^2->A    ;Stores A squared into A
:ClrHome
:Output(1,1,"(Variable)^2=")    ;Displays text in the upper left corner of the screen
:Output(2,1,A)    ;Displays the value of A just under "(Variable)^2="
:Stop    ;Quits the program
I added some comments, though it is very easy to understand what the program does. This is just a habit of mine in programming. I like to know exactly what is happening each step of the way, so if I leave a project, I can come back to it a year later and understand exactly what I was doing.
If you happen to provide me with some code, please comment it at your best. Thank you.
ImageImage
ImageImage
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff

Re: [TI ASM] Make a simple program

Post by benryves »