Assembling an Asm File (answered)

Got questions? Got answers? Go here for both.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

Moose
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun 02 Sep, 2007 6:48 am
Location: Shhhhh, they'll hear me!

Assembling an Asm File (answered)

Post by Moose »

Hello. I've been trying to learn assembly for the past month, but a huge roadblock is the fact that i cant run tasm very well. The problem is all the tutorials aren't very accurate about what is supposed to happen when i run it (ie nothing until i run it manually from the dos). Maybe its because I have windows vista or xp (i have both / tried both)

BTW, one way i tried actually outputs a hex file, but theres nothing in it.

Would any of you mind telling me how you assemble your programs?
Last edited by Moose on Fri 21 Mar, 2008 7:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Post by King Harold »

I do it the easy way - with LateNite & Brass
It's much easier than TASM (which I have used but it's a bitch..), Brass "just works" unlike TASM which has an argument with you first

Ben's tools might even be workable with Vista since he likes Vista. Still, workable tools on an OS that has an argument with you whenever you (or a program) do(es) something is not really fun so best just use XP

I would be surprised if TASM works with Vista at all
Moose
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun 02 Sep, 2007 6:48 am
Location: Shhhhh, they'll hear me!

Post by Moose »

King Harold wrote:I do it the easy way - with LateNite & Brass
It's much easier than TASM (which I have used but it's a bitch..), Brass "just works" unlike TASM which has an argument with you first

Ben's tools might even be workable with Vista since he likes Vista. Still, workable tools on an OS that has an argument with you whenever you (or a program) do(es) something is not really fun so best just use XP

I would be surprised if TASM works with Vista at all
Is there an easy way to run brass, I'm a bit confused.
User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

Make sure you're using the Win32 console version of TASM, not the DOS version.
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Post by King Harold »

Moose wrote:Is there an easy way to run brass, I'm a bit confused.
it's easy if you read the manual, but it's much easier to start it with LateNite's compile button
User avatar
driesguldolf
Extreme Poster
Posts: 395
Joined: Thu 17 May, 2007 4:49 pm
Location: $4080
Contact:

Post by driesguldolf »

Tasm isn't bugged or anything, it just has some stupid limitations and errors that won't make you wise.

I do suggest Brass3 BUT there isn't a manual on how to use it yet (maybe I should try to make one... Hmm...), and it may be not so easy since it uses project files (only because there's no docs on it)

There's also Spasm (check out revsoft.org) but I don't know much about it.
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

Brass 3 comes with a sample TI program, I suppose you could duplicate the project folder and change the code. You build programs by double-clicking on the project file, which is pretty easy. :)
User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

@Moose: See if this is of any help to you: http://wikiti.denglend.net/index.php?title=Beginners
And if not, let us know why not so we can improve it ;)
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
Moose
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun 02 Sep, 2007 6:48 am
Location: Shhhhh, they'll hear me!

Post by Moose »

That does help me :) but does brass have a .exe file (I didn't see one) It tells me

'brass.exe' is not recognized as an internal..... etc

In any case I tried Asm studio for some of my programs and it worked fine, I was finally able to output a ram file. Thanks for the help :)
User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

There's in fact a direct link on the wiki page that I refered you to...
http://benryves.com/bin/brass/Brass.exe
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
Moose
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun 02 Sep, 2007 6:48 am
Location: Shhhhh, they'll hear me!

Post by Moose »

This is my favorite tutorial in ti assembly so far. Does anyone think it's a bad idea to use this one?

http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/TI_83_Plus ... t_you_need
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Post by King Harold »

If by "this one" you mean the TASM they linked to, then yes that is a bad idea..

If you mean the tutorial itself.. well, it's incomplete, I had to add a lot of stuff to make it even passingly acceptable, and it is based on http://dragonfire.unitedti.org/asmin28/lesson/toc.html so much that you could just as well read that one (which is more complete)
Moose
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun 02 Sep, 2007 6:48 am
Location: Shhhhh, they'll hear me!

Post by Moose »

Thanks for the link, I've tried that tutorial and it's working pretty well but it's not handling my rom calls very well, see:

Image


EDIT:

Ah never mind, I figured it out. For some reason the include file I used uses bcall instead of b_call so I changed it and now it works fine :)


Thank alot guys, this is the first time I've actually been able to assemble a program. That's really been my only problem, I don't think that language is that hard to learn.
Liazon
Calc Guru
Posts: 962
Joined: Thu 27 Oct, 2005 8:28 pm

Post by Liazon »

seriously, all future updates (if there will be any) to ti83plus.inc need to include both bcall and b_call !!!!

it's like one of the major impediments to people learning ASM aside from no experience opening a command prompt!!!
Image Image Image
King Harold
Calc King
Posts: 1513
Joined: Sat 05 Aug, 2006 7:22 am

Post by King Harold »

Why are you using TASM? (despite many warnings that it's the worst assembler out there?)
Post Reply