[TI83p-ASM] Come here to worship 83pa28d!

Got questions? Got answers? Go here for both.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

What are your toughts about 83pa28d?

Ultimate tutorial for the 83p
20%
Only tutorial for the 83p
No votes
Very good except the errors
70%
I liked the style but the explanations sucked
10%

Total votes: 10

driesguldolf
Extreme Poster

[TI83p-ASM] Come here to worship 83pa28d!

Post by driesguldolf »

When I started learning asm one of the first tutorials a read was 83pa28d, if you ask me it's even better then most schoolbooks!
But I found alot of errors in it, thats why I posted this topic (I tried to contact him (Sean McLaughlin) but I can't find a working mail address (I found 4 different ones :S, none of them worked...)
Last edited by driesguldolf on Sat 19 May, 2007 3:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
driesguldolf
Extreme Poster

Post by driesguldolf »

Some errors I could find:
* Day 10 - More Registers: at the bottom of the document there's a link to the "Low-Level Key Input" lesson (day 22), but I think it should direct you to day 23 - Interrupts
* Day 22 - Low-Level Key Input: Two things here, You say that you need a delay of 2 "NOP" instructions to give the hardware time to react, but a little bit further in Program 22-3 (This is not a problem in Program 22-2 because of the loop) I don't see any nop's and the program perfectly works? The second thing is that there's no explanation of why you should reset the key port by sending $FF.
* Day 24 - Monochrome Graphics: There's a bug in the getpixel code wich causes, the "LD B, A" instruction should be placed right after "AND 7", because if the loop is executed it will have 128 iterations.
* Day 27 - String and Numerical Input: Some lines of code appears with grey background, other lines don't (They code isn't preceded by "Program Chapter-X", I don't know if this is normal).
* Small Font Character Map: The text is stretched if the browser-width is too large, I don't think this is ok.