[TI ASM] Compiling Error with ASM IN 28 Days

Got questions? Got answers? Go here for both.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

lloydkirk

[TI ASM] Compiling Error with ASM IN 28 Days

Post by lloydkirk »

Could someone please help me with this tutorial. I tried to assemble the "hello.z80" program example and followed all the directions correctly, but when i entered "asm hello" in the DOS a popup saying "TASM.EXE has ecountered a problem and needs to close" pops up and the code in the DOS results in the following.

Code: Select all

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>cd desktop

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop>cd asm

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\ASM>cd TASM

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\ASM\TASM>asm hello
==== Now assembling hello.z80 for the TI-83 Plus ====
TASM Z80 Assembler.       Version 3.2 September, 2001.
 Copyright (C) 2001 Squak Valley Software
tasm: object file open error on c:\asm\exec\hello.bin
The system cannot find the path specified.
The system cannot find the path specified.
The system cannot find the path specified.
==== Job finished. Program saved as hello.8xp ====
The system cannot find the path specified.
The system cannot find the path specified.
==== Done ====

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\ASM\TASM>

Here's the tutortial page~~~
http://dragon-fire.org/Asmin28/lesson/toc.html

***NOTE~~~I've tried using other assemblers besides TASM, such as "z80 Workshop" by Benjamin Ryves and I have face similar problems.
Maybe its a windows error?

~~~Thanks for your help
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

the asm directory has to be the following directory:

Code: Select all

c:\asm\
yours is:

Code: Select all

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\ASM\
you can do two things:
  • Copy the folder ASM to the c:\
  • Change the .bat file so that it will work with your custom made folders
Please use the instructions befor posting a new topic next time.

Good luck!
Image
koolmansam375
Extreme Poster
Posts: 479
Joined: Fri 17 Dec, 2004 11:09 pm
Contact:

Post by koolmansam375 »

*this post is mainly a clear rehash of what kv just said*

1.you could move it to the C drive but you also have to rename the folders using lowercase

or

2.you could edit the batch file and change all the "c:\" references to "C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop\ASM\" and then the "exec"s to "EXEC" , "tasm" to "TASM" etc.
Guest

[TI ASM] Compiling Error with ASM IN 28 Days

Post by Guest »

I followed your instructions, but now im getting a popup that says...

16 bit MS-DOS Subsystem

"Command Prompt - asm hello
C:/WINDOWS/SYSTEM32/AUTOEXEC.NT. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application"

and the command prompt screen looks like this .........

Code: Select all

Microsoft Windows XP [Version 5.1.2600]
(C) Copyright 1985-2001 Microsoft Corp.

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner\Desktop>cd..

C:\Documents and Settings\Owner>cd..

C:\Documents and Settings>cd..

C:\>cd asm

C:\asm>cd TASM

C:\asm\tasm>asm hello
==== Now assembling hello.z80 for the TI-83 Plus ====
TASM Z80 Assembler.       Version 3.2 September, 2001.
 Copyright (C) 2001 Squak Valley Software
tasm: pass 1 complete.
tasm: pass 2 complete.
tasm: Number of errors = 0
==== Job finished. Program saved as hello.8xp ====
==== Done ====
MANY THANKS FOR THE ASSISTANCE
lloydkirk1989
Calc Wizard
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 5:37 am
Location: West Palm Beach,FL
Contact:

Compiling Error with ASM IN 28 Days

Post by lloydkirk1989 »

Are MS-DOS applications not compatible with Windows XP, because I can't get any MS-DOS applications or the MS-DOS command prompt to work on my XP. Strangely enough, the regular windows command prompt works fine. :?: :?: :?: :?

To further explain whenever I try to "RUN" command.com or command prompt I get that same old pop up that I mentioned in the previous post. But when I "RUN" cmd.exe it works fine. Devpack8x is an MS-DOS application so that may explain why im not able to assemble any programs. :(

IF someone could HELP me I would greatly appreciate it.
User avatar
blueskies
Calc Wizard
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue 25 Apr, 2006 2:24 pm

aaaaaaah that avatar

Post by blueskies »

dude, seriously fix your avatar. Can there please be some restriction on avatar size?
lloydkirk1989
Calc Wizard
Posts: 680
Joined: Wed 22 Dec, 2004 5:37 am
Location: West Palm Beach,FL
Contact:

aaaaaaah that avatar

Post by lloydkirk1989 »

Sorry about the Avatar and I will fix it, but in the mean time I would appreciate if someone could offer a few HELPFUL words.
User avatar
kv83
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 2735
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 7:26 pm
Location: The Hague, Netherlands
Contact:

Post by kv83 »

Well it should work on WinXP, cause I am using it. I heard somewhere that some have problems with it. Try to update your WinXP to SP2. If that doesn't work, you may want to try DosBox which emulates Intel x86 PC on different platforms (Microsoft Windows 2000, Windows XP, Linux and FreeBSD). Good luck!
Image
CoBB
MCF Legend
Posts: 1601
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 8:45 am
Location: Budapest, Absurdistan
Contact:

Post by CoBB »

No need for SP2, neither for DosBox. Rather download TASM 3.2 from dwedit's page (http://home.comcast.net/~alanweiss3/dwedit/ -> Development Tools).
sPaZ
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed 16 Feb, 2005 5:10 pm
Location: South Carolina
Contact:

Post by sPaZ »

.nolist
#include "ti83plus.inc"
#define ProgStart $9D95
.list
.org ProgStart - 2
.db t2ByteTok, tAsmCmp
b_call(_ClrLCDFull)
ld hl, 0
ld (PenCol), hl
ld hl, msg
b_call(_PutS) ; Display the text
b_call(_NewLine)
ret

msg:
.db "Hello world!", 0
.end
.end
Our scars reminds us that we do have a past.
sPaZ
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed 16 Feb, 2005 5:10 pm
Location: South Carolina
Contact:

Post by sPaZ »

that is the code i am having a problem trying to assemble. it says source fille open error on ti83plus.inc
Our scars reminds us that we do have a past.
Spengo
Calc Master
Posts: 1116
Joined: Sat 15 Jan, 2005 3:56 am
Location: ooga booga land
Contact:

Post by Spengo »

you need to copy ti83plus.inc to the loaction of your thingie-probably here C:\>asm\tasm also, please don't double post. there is such a thing as an edit button. :P
bananas... o.o
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

You DO have the file 'ti83plus.inc' in the same directory right?
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
sPaZ
New Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Wed 16 Feb, 2005 5:10 pm
Location: South Carolina
Contact:

Post by sPaZ »

BAH... WHAT THE HELL is this ti83plus.inc, and where the hell can i get it.
Our scars reminds us that we do have a past.
Spengo
Calc Master
Posts: 1116
Joined: Sat 15 Jan, 2005 3:56 am
Location: ooga booga land
Contact:

Post by Spengo »

bananas... o.o
Post Reply