[CrunchyOS] am i the only one

A General Discussion forum for TI calculators

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

kalan_vod
Calc King

[CrunchyOS] am i the only one

Post by kalan_vod »

ok i am new to asm as some may know and i am running my game in crunchy and everytime i run it, the game gets smaller in size....any clue why or is this spose to happen? could this just be because of the game being in the ram - processor etc. maybee?
thx

p.s. it only happens when i the game is in the ram
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff

Post by Dwedit »

You probably found a nasty bug. Which game was it?
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
Duck
Sir Posts-A-Lot

Post by Duck »

Dwedit: something totally unrelated but this may be faster then email..
Do you still have that smoothscrolling routine of yours lying around? To be exact, the routine that redraws the screen every frame, supports masking and this nice wavy effect. I may use it for some little experiment.
Could you mail it to dpkingma@gmail.com?
Thanks

EDIT: I found a piece of code from you over here:
http://forums.unitedti.org/index.php?sh ... =1124&st=0

Is that your latest version?
kalan_vod
Calc King

Post by kalan_vod »

its a game i am making so i did something wierd i guess lol
ill send you it after school today dan.
thx
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff

Post by Dwedit »

Yep, it's a bug.

BUG: For an ion program in ram, the program size decreases by 4 bytes after running it. The program still contains all the data, only the sizebytes are incorrect.

Why it happens: Whenever you run a ion program that's in ram, the shell removes the first 4 bytes from the program when it runs it, and stuffs those bytes into a temporary file called CRUIONH. Then when it returns to the shell, it inserts the 4 bytes from that file back into the program. Looks like I fogot to update the variable's size after adding the 4 bytes back on.

I'm an idiot for not noticing this sooner.