[TI-ASM] Handling Keypresses for ALL z80 calcs

Got questions? Got answers? Go here for both.

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

Throwaway Identity
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 11:51 am
Location: Meditating

[TI-ASM] Handling Keypresses for ALL z80 calcs

Post by Throwaway Identity »

I'm attempting to compile the same source code for all z80 calcs (73, 82, 83, 83+). Yes I know about Dwedit.inc No, I don't want it. I've been using the Unification FAQ as a guide.
I know how to handle TI-83(+) keypresses... use ifdef and direct input. But 73 and 82 are a mystery to me- especially the 82! Here are my questions (btw I am trying to avoid ifdef's in the source, only in the include...)

TI-73 (Mallard, duh):
- Is direct input even an option here?
- If I can use direct input, does anybody know where I can get a list of the correspondin g hex codes, keygroups, ect?
- is there an equivelent of getcsc, and how fast is it?

TI-82 (CrASH):
- Is direct input even an option here?
- If I can use direct input, does anybody know where I can get a list of the correspondin g hex codes, keygroups, ect?
- What is this g_kHAND thing for keypresses? As much info as possible here.
- Is there an equivelent of getcsc, and is it fast?

ALL

- What in general is the best way to handle keypresses over all z80 calcs?

thanks in advance, and please see-also my ti-82 vputs question
Sypher Games: TBA :(
Andy_J
Calc Master
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: In the state of Roo Fearing
Contact:

Post by Andy_J »

The 73's hardware should be almost, if not, exactly the same as the 83+'s. You should be able to do direct input in the exact same way as the 83+. The key codes should be the same as the keys in the same location on the 83+. As for the 82, I'd imagine it'd be similar.

fixed typo :roll:
Last edited by Andy_J on Sun 15 May, 2005 2:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.
ImageImage
Image
User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

ALL the TI-8x's have identical direct input. Even the TI-89, despite a different processor.
The only differences are what keys exist at each location.
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
Throwaway Identity
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 11:51 am
Location: Meditating

Post by Throwaway Identity »

so what you are saying is that the key group $BF on the TI-83+ is still $BF on the TI-82, AND it is the same keys? That would be :twisted: , and make me feel :oops: ...

EDIT: One last thing, since VTI doesn't emulate 73, are the keys the exact same as the 83+ (what I mean is the NAMES of the keys, not the hex). Seems they would be, since apps, ect...
Sypher Games: TBA :(
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Get the Flash Debugger, it emulates the 73.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
pacHa
Sir Posts-A-Lot
Posts: 190
Joined: Sun 09 Jan, 2005 9:51 am
Contact:

Post by pacHa »

TI-82-specific tutorial here : http://karma.ticalc.org
key reading is explained there

and the best solution to interact w/ the keyboard is direct input :)

and about compiling includes and stuff, w/o Dwedit's include, you can have a look at my sources (with #define's though)
Image
Throwaway Identity
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 11:51 am
Location: Meditating

Post by Throwaway Identity »

jeez, everyone seems to want to help! :shock: ! That's great, though. No way I could have done this without UnitedTI.org and this foru, :P ... Does flash debugger graphically show the calc, btw?

@pacha: yes, everyone and their mothers uncle seems to be showing me that link. I found it bymyself on ticalc looking for 82 references but didn't look much into it. Seems I should again.

again, thanks for all the help.
Sypher Games: TBA :(
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

Yes it displays it graphically, just like VTI. It also does the 83+ and SE ... and it supports APPs and such. But be warned, it is buggy.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
Throwaway Identity
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 11:51 am
Location: Meditating

Post by Throwaway Identity »

thanks, i just need a picture of a ti-73. I've never seen one b4. Do I need a rom image or something? I guess I've just been to spoiled with vti :roll: and pinder ti :twisted:

EDIT:

OMG! I just saw what a TI-73 looks like! t3h ugliness! the... OMG!
it looks a lot different from what I thought it would. but on to a strictly professional outlook.

The keys have been switcherood. So the hex and the corresponding key will be the same, but that keys name will not. Since layout is the same, perhaps I should just say 'Pretend it's a TI-83 and deal with it!'... " :(

does anybody have any idea about what to do about this?
Last edited by Throwaway Identity on Sun 15 May, 2005 9:41 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Sypher Games: TBA :(
Andy_J
Calc Master
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: In the state of Roo Fearing
Contact:

Post by Andy_J »

The flash debugger supplies its own copy of the OS. (read: no ROM needed)
ImageImage
Image
DarkerLine
Calc Wizard
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 08 Mar, 2005 1:37 am
Location: who wants to know?
Contact:

Post by DarkerLine »

Throwaway Identity wrote:OMG! I just saw what a TI-73 looks like! t3h ugliness! the... OMG!
Heathen! I'd choose a 73 over the look of an 84+ any day!
just try to be nice to people.
_________________
My TI Blog - http://mpl.unitedti.org/
Throwaway Identity
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sun 24 Apr, 2005 11:51 am
Location: Meditating

Post by Throwaway Identity »

do you OWN a 73? see the 'announce your projects' section (betatesters)
Sypher Games: TBA :(
DarkerLine
Calc Wizard
Posts: 526
Joined: Tue 08 Mar, 2005 1:37 am
Location: who wants to know?
Contact:

Post by DarkerLine »

Nope, if I did I would've posted. But I did start out programming in TI-basic with a 73, and miss it. I even tried to load a TI-73 OS onto my 84+.
just try to be nice to people.
_________________
My TI Blog - http://mpl.unitedti.org/
User avatar
Timendus
Calc King
Posts: 1729
Joined: Sun 23 Jan, 2005 12:37 am
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Timendus »

Throwaway Identity wrote:thanks, i just need a picture of a ti-73. I've never seen one b4.
...
Google..?
http://clap.timendus.com/ - The Calculator Link Alternative Protocol
http://api.timendus.com/ - Make your life easier, leave the coding to the API
http://vera.timendus.com/ - The calc lover's OS
Andy_J
Calc Master
Posts: 1110
Joined: Mon 20 Dec, 2004 10:01 pm
Location: In the state of Roo Fearing
Contact:

Post by Andy_J »

DarkerLine wrote:I even tried to load a TI-73 OS onto my 84+.
Of course that won't work! The 84+'s bootloader jumps to a different location after it loads the OS. If you try hard enough, you MIGHT be able to get it onto an 83+.
ImageImage
Image
Post Reply