[GBA] TI83 Emulator

A forum where you can announce your awesome project(s).

Moderator: MaxCoderz Staff

User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

Thanks to some lovely bugs in the GNU toolchain, it took forever to find an ARM assembly bug where an ADR instruction (PC Reletive) pointed to a destination too far, which for some reason did not cause an error. This had completely broken all memory writes.
Now to find more bugs...
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

My IRQ code sucks. It triggers an interrupt every time it returns from an interrupt.

EDIT: nope, turned out to be that the Z80 core decreases PC by 1 after executing a HALT instruction, and I hadn't made the IRQ checker check if it had just executed a halt instruction.
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

Image
Woot! It now runs the Bubble Bobble ROM.

Still doesn't boot TIOS yet. Now gotta add Keyboard support!
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
User avatar
blueskies
Calc Wizard
Posts: 553
Joined: Tue 25 Apr, 2006 2:24 pm

Post by blueskies »

bubble bobble, running on a ti83, running on a gba. That's pretty cool! good work
User avatar
Xphoenix
New Member
Posts: 27
Joined: Sun 10 Jun, 2007 3:58 pm
Location: North of the south pole

Post by Xphoenix »

Can't wait to try out. Speaking of which, I have VBA...

LOOK IN MY SIG!!!
ImageImage
I don't have them, but no one can stop me :)
User avatar
benryves
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 3087
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: Croydon, England
Contact:

Post by benryves »

Excellent work. :)

I tried to convert my SMS emulator into a TI emulator - I got it to run one of my demos happily, but I could never get the TIOS to boot. I wish you a lot of luck with it..!
User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

Image
I'm pretty sure anyone could come up with a better Skin. It needs to be 144x160 for now, and legible.
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

Image
Woot!

The culprit behind the failures? Messed up ld rr,(nnnn) instructions. Loaded the first byte correctly, failed to load the second.
Happened because there was SMS emulation cruft hiding in there. Was treating the first byte using the correct memory map, then assumed the second byte had a different memory map where the top 6 bits were used in the memory map table instead of the top 2 bits.
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
User avatar
tr1p1ea
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 4141
Joined: Thu 16 Dec, 2004 10:06 pm
Location: I cant seem to get out of this cryogenic chamber!
Contact:

Post by tr1p1ea »

\o/ Its working!

Thats awesome DWedit! :). All these calc emus popping up, maybe i should write one j/k :P.
"My world is Black & White. But if I blink fast enough, I see it in Grayscale."
Image
Image
User avatar
Demon
Regular Member
Posts: 85
Joined: Wed 31 Jan, 2007 12:11 am
Location: (806), Texas
Contact:

Post by Demon »

Whoa that is cool... now if only I had a real Gameboy Advance. :P
"Python has dynamic typing, and dynamic binding, which means that not only does it make a great secretary, it is also pretty damn kinky." --Henry the Adequate

<My Artwork>
User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

Would you like to try it out? I've released an extremely early build just to get feedback. Yes, this is extremely early. Does not support sending programs to emulator, or savestates. Only emulates a TI83.
Download version 0.00 (not kidding about that version number)

How to use:
* First append a TI83 rom image to the end of the .gba file, using something like "copy /b ti83emu.gba + ti83.rom ti83emu_rom.gba"
Keys:
SELECT: Toggle keyboard overlay
Keys (keyboard visible)
* Arrows: Move cursor
* (right now cursor is not displayed over arrow keys, just move it away a few times)
* A: Press that key
* B: Quick Keys
* Start: ENTER
* L: Alpha
* R: 2nd
Quick Keys: (Hold down B while keyboard visible)
* A: ENTER
* Arrow Keys: Arrow Keys
* (other keys same as keyboard visible)
Fullscreen Keys:
* Arrows: Arrows
* A: 2nd
* B: Alpha

Note that you need to press ON to boot the TIOS.
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
Spencer
Extreme Poster
Posts: 346
Joined: Mon 17 Jan, 2005 8:56 am
Location: Indiana

Post by Spencer »

Pretty cool. I want our z80 core written in assembly now, hahaha. Everything seems to be in order, the only thing I noticed was timing was a bit off.
User avatar
Jim e
Calc King
Posts: 2457
Joined: Sun 26 Dec, 2004 5:27 am
Location: SXIOPO = Infinite lives for both players
Contact:

Post by Jim e »

I dusted off my old 512mbit Flash cart to try this. Pretty slick, I didn't think it would be legible scaled so small, but it actually is very clear on my DS. This is nice, though it will only feeling like home if it says "ram cleared" instead of "mem cleared". :P
Image
User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

Now time to debug the linking code... fun fun...
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
User avatar
Dwedit
Maxcoderz Staff
Posts: 579
Joined: Wed 15 Dec, 2004 6:06 am
Location: Chicago!
Contact:

Post by Dwedit »

Holy crap, linking now works.
You know your hexadecimal output routine is broken when it displays the character 'G'.
Post Reply